
 

 
 

 

 
 

              
          
         

       
  

 

   
  

 
 

   
   

   
   

    
      
     
      

 
   

 
 

  
      

 
      

 
      

 
  

 

  
    
     
    
    

 
 

    
     

 
    

 
  

 

 

     
       

 
   

 
    

STATE  OF  CALIFORNIA –  DEPARTMENT OF  FINANCIAL PROTECTION AND INNOVATION    

INDEX OF FEES, FINES  AND PENALTIES  
DFPI–ADM  510  (Rev. 10-20 )
 

Effective 07/01/2013 
(GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 8317) 

FEES 

Application fees required by the statutes administered by the Commissioner of Financial Protection and 
Innovation or rules promulgated under these statutes are due and payable upon filing of the application regardless
of the action taken thereon and should be submitted together with the application or other filing to which they refer. 

Checks should be made payable to the “Department of Financial Protection and Innovation” and need not be 
certified. (See Section 250.15, Chapter 3, Title 10, California Code of Regulations.) 

Besides the fees indexed below, costs of examinations (which vary each year) are available from the Department of 
Financial Protection and Innovation’s Office of Management and Budget.  Also, publication and copy fees are set
forth in Title 10, California Code of Regulations, Sections 260.608 and 260.617. 

SECTION TYPE OF FILING FEE 

CORPORATIONS CODE 
Corporate Securities Law 

25608 (b) Negotiating Permit (25102(c)) $ 50 
(c) Notices (25102(h) and 25102(f)) See Note #1 and #2 below 
(d) Designation of Issuer (25100(k)) $ 50 
(e) Permit (25113) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 

max. 
Small Company Permit (25113(b)(2)) $2,500.  Should cost of processing a 

small company application exceed 
the filing fee, an additional fee shall 
be charged up to $1,000 max. 

Notification (25112) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 
max. 

(f) Coordination (25111) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 
max. 

(h) Permit (25121) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 
max. 

The fee for any change in the 
rights, preferences, privileges, or 
restrictions of or on outstanding 
securities is $200 

(i) Notification (25131) $100 
(j) Removal or Modification of Condition $ 50 
(k) Guarantee of Security $ 50 
(l) Commissioner as Escrow Holder $ 50 

($2.50 deposit of each new 
certificate resulting from transfer) 

(m) Transfer of Securities $ 20 per transfer 
(n) Amendment to Effective Qualification $ 50 plus any additional fee as 

required 
(o) Broker-Dealer Certificate (25211) $300; $75 minimum annual 

assessment 
(p) Agent and Investment Adviser $ 25 

Representative Change of Employment 
Notification 

(q) Investment Advisor Certificate (25231) $125 per year 
(s) Fairness Hearing Under Section 25142 $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value: $2,500 

max. + actual hearing costs 
(u) Repurchase Offer (25507(b)) Amount payable under 25608(e), (f), 

(h) or (i)
(v) Exemption (25100(l)) $250



       

 
         

 

   
      
     
      

 
    

 
 

   
 

    
     
    
    
   
    

     
    
    
   

   
    

    
  

 
 

    
 

 
 

  
 

    
   
    
   

   
  

 
 

   
 

 

   
    
   
   

    
 

    
    
    

 
  

 
   

 

     
 

 

      
 

    
   
    

    
     

 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA – DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL PROTECTION AND INNOVATION 

INDEX OF FEES, FINES AND PENALTIES 
DFPI–ADM 510 (Rev. 10-20) Page 2 of 5

SECTION TYPE OF FILING FEE 
(w) Notice of Report Under Section 25105 See Note #1 below 
(x) Qualified Purchasers Notice (25102(n)) $600 
(y) Notice of Transaction (25102(o)) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 

max. 
(z) Notice (25103(h)) $600 

25608.1(a) Investment Company Notice $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 
(25100.1(b)) max. 

(b) Notice (25102.1(a)) $600 
(c) Notice (25102.1(d)) $300 See Note #2 below 
(d) Investment Advisor Notice (25230.1(b)) $125 

Notice or Report (25230.1(c)) $ 25 

Capital Access Company Law 
28110 (a)(1) Capital Access Company License $2,000 max. 

(a)(2) Application to Acquire Control $1,000 max. 
(a)(3) Purchase or Sell Business $1,000 max. 

Franchise Investment Law 
31500 (b) Franchise Registration (31111) $675 

(c) Franchise Registration Renewal (31121) $450 
(d) Franchise Registration Amendment $ 50 

(Post-effective) 
(e) Material Modification $ 50 

SECTION TYPE OF FILING FEE 

(f) Notice of Exemption (31101) $450 
Consecutive Subsequent Notice $150 

(g) Written Notice of Violation $675 

FINANCIAL CODE 
Check Sellers, Bill Payers and 
Proraters Law 

12214 (a) Check Sellers, Bill Payer and $200 
Proraters License* 
Investigation $ 50 

(b)(3) Annual Assessment $150+ 

Escrow Law 
17207 (a) Escrow Agent License $625/main office + $425/branch 

office + Fingerprint Costs 
(b) Duplicate License $ 2 
(c) Investigation $100/office 
(e) Annual Assessment* Pro rata not to exceed $2,800 per 

office of location 
(f) Investigation for Manager $ 50 

Qualifications other than 
License Application 

(g) Notice or Report Required by Section $ 25 
17203.1 

(h) Special Assessment Not to exceed $1,000 per office or 
location 

17213 Transfer of Ownership $625 + $100 investigation fee 

Financing Law 
22103 Financing Law License $200 Application fee (nonrefundable) 

Investigation Fee $100 + Fingerprint & Criminal History 
Costs (nonrefundable) 



       

 
         

 

    
     
       

   
   

      
 

    
 

   
   

    
    
   
    

   
  

   
 

   
   

    
 

 
    

 
    

       
      

      
      

 
     

   
   

 
    

 

 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA –DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL PROTECTION AND INNOVATION 

INDEX OF FEES, FINES AND PENALTIES 
DFPI–ADM 510 (Rev. 10-20) Page 3 of 5

22107 
22349 
22357 

(c) 

(b) 

Annual Assessment* 
Pilot Program Lender Aplication Fee 
Finders Annual Registration Fee 

$250+ Per Licensed Location 
$250 to $850 Per Location 
$100 to $1,000 Per Location 

23006 

23016 

(23100) 

(23100) 

Deferred Deposit Transaction Law 
Deferred Deposit Originator 

Annual Assessment* 

$200 + $100 Investigation Fee + 
Fingerprint Costs 
Pro rata based on number of 
locations 

Securities Depository Law 
30202 (a) Security Depository License $2,500 

(c) Continuing a License $2,500 per annum 

Residential Mortgage Lending Act 
50121 (b), (c), (50130 (b)(2)) Residential Mortgage Lender; $900 + $100 Investigation Fee + 

Servicer or Both Fingerprint Costs 
50401 Annual Assessment* $1,000 minimum; $5,000 maximum 

NOTE # 1:  Fee for filing notices is based on the value of the securities sold in the transaction for which the notice is 
filed (including those portions not in this state), as follows: 

Value of securities sold Filing fee 

$ 25,000 or less $ 25 
$ 25,001 to $100,000 35 
$100,001 to $500,000 50 
$500,001 to $1,000,000 150 
Over $1,000,000 300 

NOTE # 2. Pursuant to Corporations Code Section 25608.3 (See Commissioner’s Release No. 115-C as revised on 
May 28, 2004), the maximum filing fee associated with subdivision (f) of Corporations Code section 25102 and 
subdivision (d) of Section 25102.1 shall be $300. 

* Contact the Consumer Services Office at (866) 275-2677 for Annual Assessment (which varies each year).
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FINES AND PENALTIES 

Besides the fines and penalties indexed below, there may be remedies available to the Department of Financial 
Protection and Innovation for the public's protection pursuant to an enforcement action.

SECTION LAW FINE/PENALTY 

CORPORATIONS CODE 
Corporate Securities Law 

25252 Willful Violation of Up to $15,000 Administrative Penalty per 
Law/Rule/Order violation (See Note #3 below) 

25535 Violation of Law /Rule/Order Up to $25,000 Civil Penalty per violation 
25540 (a) Willful Violation of Up to $1,000,000 or up to 1 year 

Law/Rule/Order state/county prison or both 
(b) Willful Violation of Up to $10,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 

Law/Rule/Order yrs) or both 
(c) For Sarbanes-Oxley issuers Up to $25,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 

yrs) or both 
25541 (a) Use of Device, Scheme or Up to $10,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 

Artifice to Defraud yrs) or both 
(b) For Sarbanes-Oxley issuers Up to $25,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 

yrs) or both 
28880 Willful Violation of Up to $250,000 or up to 1 year state/county 

Law/Rule/Order prison or both 
28900 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Civil penalty per violation. 

Continuing Violation $2,500 each day violation continues 

Bucket Shop Law 
29102 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Corporations:  $1,000 – 10,000 

Non-corporate entity: $1,000 – 10,000 or 
state prison or both 

Commodity Law 
29544 Willful Violation of Up to $25,000 Civil Penalty per violation 

Law/Rule/Order 
29550 (a) Willful Violation of Up to $250,000 or up to 1 year state/county 

Law/Rule/Order prison or both 
(b) Violation of Section 29536 Up to $250,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 4 

yrs) or both 

Franchise Investment Law 
31405 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $10,000 Civil Penalty per violation 

31406 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Administrative  Penalty per 
violation 

31410 Willful Violation of Up to $100,000 or up to 1 year state/county 
Law/Rule/Order prison or both 

31411 Willful Violation of Up to $100,000 or up to 1 year state/county 
Law/Rule/Order prison or both 

FINANCIAL CODE 
Check Sellers, Bill Payers and 
Proraters Law 

12102 Willful Violation of Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county 
Law/Rule/Order prison or both 

12105 (c) Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty per 
violation 

(d) Willful Violation of Up to $10,000 Civil Penalty per violation 
Law/Rule/Order 
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SECTION 
12107 

17213.2 

17408 

17700 

17701 

22153 

22359 
22713 

22753 

22780 

23021 

23051 
23058 

23065 

23100 

30209 

50306 

50326 

50500 

50501 

(b) 

LAW 
Violation of Law/Rule/Order 

Escrow Law 
Open or Change Branch Office 
Without Approval 
Failure to File Reports When 
Due 
Willful Violation of 
Law/Rule/Order 
Violation of Law/Rule/Order 

Financing Law 
Changes Business Location 
Without Notification 
Finders Violation of Law 
Willful Violation of 
Law/Rule/Order 
Willful Violation of 
Law/Rule/Order 
Willful Violation of 
Law/Rule/Order 

Deferred Deposit Transaction 
Law 
Changing Business Location 
Without Notification 
Violation of Law/Rule/Order 
Violation of Law/Rule/Order 

Willful Violation of 
Law/Rule/Order 
Failure to Submit License 
Application and Fee 

Securities Depository Law 
Operation Without a License 

Residential Mortgage Lending 
Act 
Open or Change Branch Office 
Without Approval 
Failure to File Reports When 
Due 
Willful Violation of 
Law/Rule/Order 
Violation of Law/Rule/Order 

FINE/PENALTY 
Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty per 
violation 

Up to $100 for 1st 10 days, $10 every day 
thereafter 
$100 per day for 1st 5 days, $500 every day 
thereafter 
Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county 
prison or both 
Up to $2,500 Civil penalty per violation 

Up to $500 Civil Penalty or Administrative 
Penalty 
Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty 
Up to $2,500 Civil Penalty per violation 

Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county 
prison or both 
Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county 
prison or both 

Up to $500 Civil Penalty 

Up to $2,500 Civil penalty per violation 
Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty per 
violation 
Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county 
prison or both 
$ 25 per day or part of day that submission 
or payment is delayed or withheld 

$250 to $1,000, or 3 to 12 months county 
jail or both 

Up to $100 for 1st 10 day, $10 every day 
thereafter 
Up to $100 each day up to the 10th day 

Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county 
prison or both 
Up to $2,500 Civil Penalty per violation 

NOTE #3:  Administrative Penalties:  Up to $1,000 for first violation and up to $2,500 for each subsequent violation, 
for persons other than broker-dealers and investment advisers; and up to $5,000 for first violation, up to $10,000 for 
second violation, and up to $15,000 for each subsequent violation, for broker-dealers and investment advisers. 
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