Avoid Costly Overdraft Fees

Track checks, ATM withdrawals, debit

card purchases, and bills that get debited
electronically from your account. Keeping a
cushion of funds in your account can help
prevent unintended overdrafts. If you have
a concern about balances or transactions in

your account, contact your financial institution.

Explain the problem and how you would like
to see the problem resolved. If contacting
the bank or credit union does not produce

Managing Financial Difficulties

If you or your family members are having financial difficulties, don't let fear
or embarrassment stop you from seeking assistance. This section explains
common issues for people experiencing financial hardships and provides
resources to support a financial recovery.

desired results, you can contact the financial
institution’s regulator for assistance. For
California state-chartered banks and credit
unions contact the California Department of
Business Oversight or see below for assistance.

Federal Regulators:

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
Consumer Response Center

1-877-275-3342 (1-877-ASK-FDIC)
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Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
Customer Assistance Group
1-800-613-6743

Federal Reserve Consumer Help
1-888-851-1920

National Credit Union Administration
Office of Consumer Protection
1-800-755-1030

For assistance with credit and/or creditor
problems, contact the National Foundation for
Credit Counseling (NFCC) www.nfcc.org or
call toll-free 1-800-388-2227 or

ClearPoint Credit Counseling Solutions
www.clearpointcreditcounselingsolutions.org
or call toll-free 1-800-750-2227.

Monitor your checking, savings, investments,
insurance, credit cards and other financial
accounts regularly. Make sure you have
sufficient funds before writing checks or using
your debit card—overdraft fees can be

very expensive.

Debt Collectors

If you are late making payments on a loan, a
credit card or other bills, you may be contacted
by a debt collector. If you are being contacted
about a debt or transaction that is not

yours — be cautious, this can be a ploy for a
scam artist to access your personal information
and/or money.

If you are overdue on a bill and are contacted
by a debt collector, the Federal Fair Debt
Collection Practices Act assures you are treated
fairly and without harassment.

The law prohibits:

« The debt collector from calling you before
8 a.m. and after 9 p.m., without
your authorization

« The debt collector from contacting you if you

make this request in writing

You have the right to dispute any of the debt
you are told you owe within 30 days from the
initial contact made by the debt collector.

Ask for proof of the debt, such as a copy of a
bill. California law prohibits a collector from
bringing a lawsuit or collecting a debt unless
it can verify the ownership and amount of the
debt. It also ends lawsuits on uncollected
debts that are barred by the applicable statute
of limitations.

If you have a problem with a debt collector, you
can report it to the California Attorney General’s
Office and the Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
(see the Resource Guide on page 25).

Payday Loans and On-Line
Cash Advances

To receive one of these loans, the borrower
must fill out an application, provide necessary
documentation, and write a check which the
lender does not cash until the borrower’s next
payday, up to 31 days later.

Payday lenders and on-line cash companies
are required to visibly post their California
license and fee schedule at every store and/or
on websites, and must provide contact phone
numbers. California law restricts these loans to
a maximum of $300, and a lender cannot issue
you a new loan to pay off an existing payday
loan. If you request an extension of time or a
payment plan, a payday lender cannot charge
additional fees (however, they are not legally
required to grant your request for deferment).
If your check is returned for insufficient funds
(“bounces”), you can only be charged one
returned check fee. A payday lender cannot
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prosecute you in criminal court for
insufficient funds.

In California, payday loans (also called cash
advances or deferred deposit loans) are
regulated by the California Department of
Business Oversight.

Unlicensed Internet Payday Lending

Payday lending sites have increased across

the Internet. Consumers are strongly urged to
verify that a lender is licensed before providing
personal information and borrowing funds.

Be wary of illegal lenders who may collect
from your bank account directly without

your permission, charge you a higher interest
rate, sell or pirate your personal financial
information, and operate out-of-state or
overseas, making it difficult to track them down,
prosecute, and recover your lost funds. Before
borrowing from an online payday lender, verify
with the California Department of Business
Oversight that the lender is licensed and

check if an enforcement order has been issued
regarding the lender’s activity.

Installment Loans

Some consumers who need more funds than
are available through payday loans may try
installment loans — another lending product
licensed by the California Department of
Business Oversight under the California
Finance Lenders Law. These loans are paid in
installments, usually over one year or more.
Lenders do report payments to the credit
bureaus, so consumers can improve or harm
their credit status by using these loans.

For loans of $2,500 and greater, interest can go
into the triple digits. For example, a consumer
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borrowing $2,500 can end up paying $6,500 for
the loan. Before you sign a contract, calculate
the full cost of the loan, and be cautious of any
unnecessary fees.

Car Title Loans

A car title loan is a loan for a small amount

of money (loans less than $2,500) where
borrowers sign over the title to their vehicle (car,
truck or motorcycle) to the lender. Borrowers
also pay the lender a fee to borrow the money.
In California, consumers usually must pay the
loan back within two years. Car title lenders can
charge high interest rates (up to triple digits). If
you cannot repay the money you owe by the
due date, the lender can sell your vehicle (the
collateral) to repay the loan. If your car sells for
more than the loan amount, you are entitled to
the remaining balance. If you are seeking a car
title loan to pay living expenses, consider asking
your creditors for additional time to pay your
bills or seek help from a credit counselor.

Anticipatory Loans

Anticipatory loans allow you to borrow from
your future income (such as a pending tax
refund). These loans do not require a credit
check or lengthy approval process, and may
seem to be an easy way to get cash in a hurry.

A tax refund anticipation loan provides
immediate cash, but reduces your refund by the
amount of the loan plus charges, fees and high
interest. To avoid loan fees or interest, have
your tax refund(s) directly deposited into your
checking or savings account.
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Tax Resource

The Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) and
Tax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) programs
provide free assistance to individuals who need
help preparing their income tax returns. Assistance
is available at VITA/TCE sites throughout
California.

The TCE program can also answer your questions
about pensions and retirement issues. Call the
IRS toll-free 1-800-829-1040 or the California
Franchise Tax Board toll-free 1-800-522-5665 to
find a site near you between January and April.

Home Foreclosures and Modifications

Homeowners who are having trouble making
home loan payments or are facing foreclosure
should look carefully when choosing someone
to help them with their mortgage problems.
Some scams that appear to rescue people from
foreclosure actually aim to victimize those in
financial trouble. These schemes are advertised
on the Internet and in publications and fliers.
Then scammers often contact people whose
homes are listed in foreclosure records. Be
cautious and do not sign your property away!

The California Homeowner
Bill of Rights

This legislation became law on January 1, 2013,
to ensure fair lending and borrowing practices for
California homeowners. These laws are designed
to guarantee basic fairness and transparency for
homeowners in the foreclosure process.

Visit the California Office of the Attorney General’s
website at www.oag.ca.gov/hbor.

Warning signs of foreclosure fraud:

« Request for fees in advance. Advance fees for

loan modifications are not legal in California
unless you have an advance fee agreement.

« Request for the deed to your house for any

reason, whether it is to take care of your credit
or obtain new financing. Do not sign it over
without professional advice!

Offer to rent your house to you until your
finances rebound.

Anyone who encourages you to sign forms that
contain blank spaces that will be filled in later.

Anyone who rushes you, does not answer all
of your questions, or does not give you ample
time to review documents.

A company that contacts you first. Some
are legitimate but many may be looking for
a victim. Always select a company with the
assistance of trained professionals.

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
(CFPB) has a resource to help find approved
housing counselors in or near any U.S. zip
code. This resource can be found at www.
consumerfinance.gov/find-a-housing-
counselor or call toll-free 1-855-411-2372.

Keep Your Home California

This is a free service for California homeowners
who have suffered a financial hardship, helping
them stay in their homes, maintain an affordable
mortgage payment, and avoid foreclosure.

To learn about the programs offered visit
http://keepyourhomecalifornia.org.
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Reverse Mortgages

A reverse mortgage is a type of loan that allows
homeowners (ages 62 and up) to borrow
against the equity in their homes

(tax-free cash). Unlike traditional mortgages,

a reverse mortgage loan gives payments to the
borrower as a line of credit (available when you
need it), in lump sum or monthly installments.

The homeowner does not have to pay back
the loan as long as they continue to live in
their home and stay current on homeowners
insurance and property taxes. If they move out
or pass away, the loan becomes due and must
be paid off by their heirs.

Keep in mind that borrowers are responsible
for paying taxes, homeowners insurance,
maintenance costs and other expenses. In
addition, lenders often charge high origination
fees and other closing costs that can be steep.

You might consider a reverse
mortgage if:

You must increase cash flow and your only
significant asset is the equity in your home.

If you prefer staying in your home versus other
housing alternatives such as senior
living facilities.

If you want a cushion for major expenses
(medical bills, long-term care, or major
home repairs).

If you are not concerned about leaving your
home to children or other heirs.

Do not commit to a reverse mortgage until
you have explored the alternatives with
a professional.
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Know the Law and Your Rights:

California law prohibits lenders from requiring
the purchase of an annuity as a condition of
obtaining a reverse mortgage loan; mandates
counseling from a housing counselor prior

to final acceptance of the loan; and requires
that the loan be translated into the applicant’s
primary language.

Federal law requires a counseling session with
a HUD-approved reverse mortgage counselor
before a reverse mortgage is approved.

You may benefit from the services of a financial
counselor if:

You are only able to make the minimum
payment on a credit card for two
consecutive months.

You are making late payments, have missed
payments, or have to alternate payments.

Your total credit card debt is more than your
monthly income.

Your monthly expenses are depleting
your savings.

You are borrowing or creating loans to
make ends meet.

You are relying on checking account overdraft
protection funds on a regular basis.

Do you enjoy reading for pleasure?

Use reading to grow and protect your wealth!
Read about saving and investing.

FINRA Smart Investing
www.finra.org

Money Smart for Older Adults
www.fdic.gov

NASAA Senior Investor Resource Center
www.nasaa.org
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