1 2	MARY ANN SMITH Deputy Commissioner SEAN M. ROONEY	
3	Assistant Chief Counsel SOPHIA C. KIM (State Bar No. 265649) Senior Counsel Department of Business Oversight 320 West 4 th Street, Suite 750	
4		
5	Los Angeles, California 90013 Telephone: (213) 576-7594 Facsimile: (213) 576-7181	
6 7	Attorneys for Complainant	
8	BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT	
9	OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA	
10		
11	In the Matter of:) CRMLA LICENSE NO.: 413-1152
12	THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS	STATEMENT OF FACTS IN SUPPORT OF ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATIONS
13	OVERSIGHT,) PURSUANT TO FINANCIAL CODE) SECTION 50321 AND NOTICE OF INTENT
14	Complainant,) TO MAKE ORDER FINAL
15	V.)
16	PREMIA MORTGAGE, LLC,	
17 18	Respondent.)
19))
20		
21	The Complainant, the Commissioner of Business Oversight (Commissioner) of the Department of Business Oversight (Department), is informed and believes, and based upon such information and belief, alleges and charges Premia Mortgage, LLC (Premia) as follows: 1. Premia is a residential mortgage lender licensed by the Commissioner pursuant to the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act, commencing at Fin. Code § 50000 <i>et seq.</i> (CRMLA). 2. Premia's principal place of business is located at 1111 West Long Lake Road, Suite	
22		
23		
24		
25		
26		
27	102, Troy, Michigan 48098.	
28		
		1

- 3. On or around December 18, 2017, the Commissioner commenced a regulatory examination of the books and records of Premia pursuant to Section 50302 of the CRMLA (2018 Regulatory Exam).
- 4. The 2018 Regulatory Exam disclosed that in 2 out of 24 funded loan files reviewed during the period of September 2014 through October 2017, Premia overcharged borrowers per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the disbursement of loan proceeds in violation of Financial Code section 50204, subdivision (o). The per diem interest overcharges were approximately \$50.26 and \$65.86, and Premia overcharged borrowers from one to two days' worth of interest.
- 5. By reason of the foregoing, Premia has violated Financial Code section 50204, subdivision (o).
 - 6. Financial Code section 50321 provides:

If, after investigation, the commissioner has reasonable grounds to believe that any licensee has violated its articles of incorporation or any law or rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall, by written order addressed to the licensee, direct the discontinuance of the violation. The order shall be effective immediately, but shall not become final except in accordance with the provisions of Section 50323.

- 7. Financial Code section 50323 provides:
 - (a) No order issued pursuant to Section 50321 or 50322 may become final except after notice to the affected licensee of the commissioner's intention to make the order final and of the reasons for the finding. The commissioner shall also notify the licensee that upon receiving a request the matter will be set for hearing to commence within 15 business days after receipt. The licensee may consent to have the hearing commence at a later date. If no hearing is requested within 30 days after the mailing or service of the required notice, and none is ordered by the commissioner, the order may become final without hearing and the licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices named in the order. If a hearing is requested or ordered, it shall be held in accordance with the provisions of

the Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code), and the commissioner shall have all of the powers granted under that act. If, upon the hearing, it appears to the commissioner that the licensee is conducting business in an unsafe and injurious manner or is violating its articles of

incorporation or any law of this state, or any rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall make the order of discontinuance final and the licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices named in the order.

(b) The licensee has 10 days after an order is made final to commence an action to restrain enforcement of the order. If the enforcement of the order is not enjoined within 10 days by the court in which the action is brought, the licensee shall comply with the order.

WHEREFORE, good cause showing, the Commissioner has issued an Order to Discontinue Violations Pursuant to Financial Code Section 50321 and notifies Premia Mortgage, LLC of her intention to make the order final.

JAN LYNN OWEN Commissioner of Business Oversight

By______SOPHIA C. KIM
Senior Counsel
Enforcement Division