1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	MARY ANN SMITH Deputy Commissioner DANIEL P. O'DONNELL Assistant Chief Counsel CHARLES CARRIERE (State Bar No. 285837) Senior Counsel Department of Business Oversight One Sansome Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94104 Telephone: (415) 972-8570 Facsimile: (415) 972-8550 Attorneys for Complainant BEFORE THE DEPARTMEN	VT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
10	OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA	
11		
12	In the Matter of:) CRMLA License No.: 41DBO-73861
13	THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT,)
14) ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATION
15	Complainant,) PURSUANT TO FINANCIAL CODE) SECTION 50321 AND STATEMENT OF
16	V.) FACTS IN SUPPORT THEREOF
17 18	ASSURANCE FINANCIAL GROUP, L.L.C.,) ORDER ASSESSING FINE PURSUANT TO) FINANCIAL CODE SECTION 50326
10 19	Respondent.)
20)
20)
22)
23	TO: ASSURANCE FINANCIAL GROUP, L.L.C. 9029 Jefferson Hwy, Ste. 100	
24	Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70809	
25 26		
26 27		
27		
20		-1-
	ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATION PURSUANT TO FINANCIAL CODE SECTION 50321 AND STATEMENT OF FACTS IN SUPPORT THEREOF AND ORDER ASSESSING FINE PURSUANT TO FINANCIAI CODE SECTION 50326	

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

25

The Commissioner of Business Oversight (Commissioner) finds that:

STATEMENT OF FACTS

1. Assurance Financial Group, L.L.C., is a licensed mortgage lender and servicer under the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (Fin. Code § 50000 et seq.) (CRMLA).

2. Financial Code section 50401, subdivision (a) provides that each CRMLA licensee must pay an annual assessment, and that "[i]n order for the commissioner to calculate the assessment... each licensee shall file an annual report for the calendar year just ended containing the information required by the commissioner on or before March 1 of the year in which the assessment is to be calculated."

3. Financial Code section 50307, subdivision (a) further provides that "[e]ach residential mortgage lender or servicer licensee shall file a report with the commissioner annually, on or before the first day of March, giving the relevant information that the commissioner reasonably requires to make the calculation required by subdivision (a) of Section 50401."

4. Financial Code section 50326 provides that a licensee "shall forfeit to the people of the state a sum of up to one hundred dollars (\$100) for every day up to the 10th day" when a licensee fails "to make any report required by law or by the commissioner within 10 days from the day designated for the making of the report."

6. The Commissioner need not provide notice of the due date of the annual report required under Financial Code sections 50401, subdivision (a) and 50307, subdivision (a).

7. Nonetheless, the Commissioner issued at least three notices to Assurance Financial Group, L.L.C, informing Assurance Financial Group, L.L.C, of its duty to submit an annual report on or before March 1, 2019.

8. As of the date of this Order, Assurance Financial Group, L.L.C, has not submitted its
annual report.

ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATION

26 NOW, BASED ON THE FOREGOING, AND GOOD CAUSE APPEARING, IT IS
27 HEREBY ORDERED that pursuant to Financial Code section 50321, Assurance Financial Group,

28

ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATION PURSUANT TO FINANCIAL CODE SECTION 50321 AND STATEMENT OF FACTS IN SUPPORT THEREOF AND ORDER ASSESSING FINE PURSUANT TO FINANCIAL CODE SECTION 50326 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

24

25

26

27

28

1 L.L.C., shall immediately discontinue the violation set forth above by filing its annual report. This 2 Order to Discontinue shall become effective immediately and shall remain in effect unless set aside 3 by the Commissioner or by a court, but this Order shall not become final except in accordance with 4 the provisions of Financial Code section 50323. It is the Commissioner's intention to make this 5 Order to Discontinue final. The Commissioner will schedule a hearing to determine whether this Order to Discontinue shall become final only upon receipt of a written request for such a hearing, as 6 7 evidenced by the mailing or delivery of the Notice of Defense, within thirty days of the date the 8 Commissioner serves this Order. Upon receiving a request for a hearing, the Commissioner shall set 9 a hearing to commence within fifteen business days. If the Commissioner has not received a request 10 for a hearing within thirty days of the date the Commissioner serves this Order to Discontinue, the 11 Order will become final immediately thereafter without a hearing.

ORDER FOR FINE

Pursuant to Financial Code section 50326, Assurance Financial Group, L.L.C., is further ordered to forfeit to the people of the state a fine of \$1,000.00, paid in the form of a cashier's check to the "Department of Business Oversight," and mailed to the attention of: Accounting – Litigation, at the Department of Business Oversight located at 1515 K Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, California 95814. Notice of payment shall be sent to Charles Carriere, Counsel, Enforcement Division, at the Department of Business Oversight, located at One Sansome Street, Suite 600, San Francisco, California 94104. If the Commissioner has not received a request for a hearing within thirty days of the date the Commissioner serves this Order for Fine, this Order shall become final immediately thereafter without a hearing and the fine payment shall be payable no later than thirty days of the date the Commissioner serves this Order.

²³ Dated: March 28, 2019

San Francisco, California JAN LYNN OWEN Commissioner of Busin

Commissioner of Business Oversight

 By_{-}

Mary Ann Smith Deputy Commissioner Enforcement Division

ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATION PURSUANT TO FINANCIAL CODE SECTION 50321 AND STATEMENT OF FACTS IN SUPPORT THEREOF AND ORDER ASSESSING FINE PURSUANT TO FINANCIAL CODE SECTION 50326