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INDEX OF FEES, FINES AND PENALTIES 
DBO – ADM 510 (Rev. 07-13) 
 

 

Effective 07/01/2013 
(GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 8317) 

 

FEES 
 

Application fees required by the statutes administered by the Commissioner of Business Oversight or rules promulgated under 

these statutes are due and payable upon filing of the application regardless of the action taken thereon and should be submitted 

together with the application or other filing to which they refer.  Checks should be made payable to the “Department of 

Business Oversight” and need not be certified.  (See Section 250.15, Chapter 3, Title 10, California Code of Regulations.) 

 

Besides the fees indexed below, costs of examinations (which vary each year) are available from the Department of Business 

Oversight’s Office of Management and Budget.  Also, publication and copy fees are set forth in Title 10, California Code of 

Regulations, Sections 260.608 and 260.617. 

 

SECTION TYPE OF FILING FEE 

   

CORPORATIONS CODE   
 Corporate Securities Law  
25608 (b) Negotiating Permit (25102(c)) $ 50 

 (c) Notices (25102(h) and 25102(f)) See Note #1 and #2 below 

 (d) Designation of Issuer (25100(k)) $ 50 
 (e) Permit (25113) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max. 

 Small Company Permit (25113(b)(2)) $2,500.  Should cost of processing a small 

company application exceed the filing fee, an 
additional fee shall be charged up to $1,000 

max. 
  Notification (25112) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max. 

 (f) Coordination (25111) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max. 
 (h) Permit (25121) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max. 

The fee for any change in the rights, preferences, 

privileges, or restrictions of or on outstanding 

securities is $200 
 (i) Notification (25131) $100 

 (j) Removal or Modification of Condition $ 50 

 (k) Guarantee of Security $ 50 

 (l) Commissioner as Escrow Holder $ 50 

($2.50 deposit of each new certificate resulting 

from transfer) 
 (m) Transfer of Securities $ 20 per transfer 

 (n) Amendment to Effective Qualification $ 50 plus any additional fee as required 

 (o) Broker-Dealer Certificate (25211) $300; $75 minimum annual assessment 
 (p) Agent and Investment Adviser Representative 

Change of Employment Notification 

$ 25 

 (q) Investment Advisor Certificate (25231) $125 per year 
 (s) Fairness Hearing Under Section 25142 $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value: $2,500 max. + actual 

hearing costs 

 (u) Repurchase Offer (25507(b)) Amount payable under 25608(e), (f), (h) or (i) 
 (v) Exemption (25100(l)) $250 

 (w) Notice of Report Under Section 25105  See Note #1 below 

 (x) Qualified Purchasers Notice (25102(n)) $600 
 (y) Notice of Transaction (25102(o)) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max. 

 (z) Notice (25103(h)) $600 

25608.1 (a) Investment Company Notice (25100.1(b)) $200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max. 
 (b) Notice (25102.1(a)) $600 

 (c) Notice (25102.1(d)) $300 See Note #2 below 

 (d) Investment Advisor Notice (25230.1(b)) $125 
  Notice or Report (25230.1(c)) $ 25 

   

 Capital Access Company Law  

28110 (a)(1) Capital Access Company License $2,000 max. 
 (a)(2) Application to Acquire Control $1,000 max. 

 (a)(3) Purchase or Sell Business $1,000 max. 

   

 Franchise Investment Law  

31500 (b) Franchise Registration (31111) $675 

 (c) Franchise Registration Renewal (31121) $450 
 (d) Franchise Registration Amendment (Post-effective) $ 50 
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SECTION TYPE OF FILING FEE 
 (e) Material Modification $ 50 

 

SECTION 

 
TYPE OF FILING FEE 

 

 (f) Notice of Exemption (31101) $450 

 Consecutive Subsequent Notice $150 

 (g) Written Notice of Violation $675 

   

FINANCIAL CODE   
 Check Sellers, Bill Payers and Proraters Law  
12214 (a) Check Sellers, Bill Payer and Proraters License* $200 

 Investigation $ 50 

 (b)(3) Annual Assessment $150+ 
   

 Escrow Law  
17207 (a) Escrow Agent License $625/main office + $425/branch office + 

Fingerprint Costs 

 (b) Duplicate License $   2 

 (c) Investigation $100/office 

 (e) Annual Assessment* Pro rata not to exceed $2,800 per office of location 
 (f) Investigation for Manager Qualifications other than  

  License Application 

$ 50 

 (g) Notice or Report Required by Section 17203.1 $ 25 
 (h) Special Assessment Not to exceed $1,000 per office or location 

17213 Transfer of Ownership $625 + $100 investigation fee 

   

 Finance Lenders Law  

22103 Finance Lenders License $200 Application fee (nonrefundable) 

   Investigation Fee $100 + Fingerprint & Criminal History Costs 
(nonrefundable) 

22107 (c) Annual Assessment* $250+ Per Licensed Location 

22349 Pilot Program Lender Aplication Fee $250 to $850 Per Location 
22357 (b) Finders Annual Registration Fee $100 to $1,000 Per Location 

   
 Deferred Deposit Transaction Law  

23006 (23100)  Deferred Deposit Originator $200 + $100 Investigation Fee + Fingerprint Costs 

23016 (23100) Annual Assessment* Pro rata based on number of locations 
   

 Securities Depository Law  

30202 (a) Security Depository License $2,500 
 (c) Continuing a License $2,500 per annum 

   

 Residential Mortgage Lending Act  
50121 (b), (c), (50130 (b)(2)) Residential Mortgage Lender; Servicer or Both $900 + $100 Investigation Fee + Fingerprint Costs 

50401 Annual Assessment* $1,000 minimum; $5,000 maximum 

   
NOTE # 1:  Fee for filing notices is based on the value of the securities sold in the transaction for which the notice is filed (including those portions not in this 
state), as follows: 

 

Value of securities sold  Filing fee 
 

$ 25,000 or less   $ 25 

$ 25,001 to $100,000      35 
$100,001 to $500,000      50 

$500,001 to $1,000,000     150 

Over $1,000,000     300  
 

NOTE # 2.  Pursuant to Corporations Code Section 25608.3 (See Commissioner’s Release No. 115-C as revised on May 28, 2004), the maximum filing fee 
associated with subdivision (f) of Corporations Code section 25102 and subdivision (d) of Section 25102.1 shall be $300. 

 
* Contact the Consumer Services Office at (866) 275-2677 for Annual Assessment (which varies each year). 
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FINES AND PENALTIES 
 

Besides the fines and penalties indexed below, there may be remedies available to the Department of Business Oversight for 

the public's protection pursuant to an enforcement action. 

 

SECTION LAW FINE/PENALTY 

 

CORPORATIONS CODE   

 Corporate Securities Law   
25252 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $15,000 Administrative Penalty per violation (See 

Note #3 below) 
25535 Violation of Law /Rule/Order Up to $25,000 Civil Penalty per violation 

25540 (a) Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $1,000,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 
 (b) Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $10,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 yrs) or both 

 (c) For Sarbanes-Oxley issuers Up to $25,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 yrs) or both 

25541 (a) 

 

 (b) 

Use of Device, Scheme or Artifice to  

  Defraud 

For Sarbanes-Oxley issuers 

Up to $10,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 yrs) or both 

 

Up to $25,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 yrs) or both 

  28880 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $250,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 
28900 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Civil penalty per violation. 

 Continuing Violation $2,500 each day violation continues 

   

 Bucket Shop Law  
29102 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Corporations:  $1,000 – 10,000 

  Non-corporate entity: $1,000 – 10,000 or state prison or both 

 Commodity Law  
29544 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order  Up to $25,000 Civil Penalty per violation 
29550 (a) Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order  Up to $250,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 

 (b) Violation of Section 29536 Up to $250,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 4 yrs) or both 

   
 Franchise Investment Law  
31405 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $10,000 Civil Penalty per violation 

31406 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Administrative  Penalty per violation 

31410 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $100,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 
31411 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $100,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 

 

FINANCIAL CODE   

 Check Sellers, Bill Payers and Proraters Law  
12102 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order  Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 

12105 (c) Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty per violation 

 (d) Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $10,000 Civil Penalty per violation 
12107 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty per violation 

   

 Escrow Law  
17213.2 Open or Change Branch Office Without 

  Approval 
Up to $100 for 1st  10 days, $10 every day thereafter 

17408 Failure to File Reports When Due $100 per day for 1st 5 days, $500 every day thereafter 

17700 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 
17701 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Civil penalty per violation 

   

 Finance Lenders Law  
22153 Changes Business Location Without 

  Notification 
Up to $500 Civil Penalty or Administrative Penalty 

22359 Finders Violation of Law Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty 

22713 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Civil Penalty per violation 
22753 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 

22780 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 

   

 Deferred Deposit Transaction Law  
23021 Changing Business Location Without 

  Notification 

Up to $500 Civil Penalty 

23051 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Civil penalty per violation 
23058 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty per violation 

23065 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 
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SECTION LAW FINE/PENALTY 
23100 (b) Failure to Submit License Application 

  and Fee 
$ 25 per day or part of day that submission or payment 

   is delayed or withheld 
   

 Securities Depository Law  
30209 Operation Without a License $250 to $1,000, or 3 to 12 months county jail or both 

   

 Residential Mortgage Lending Act  
50306 Open or Change Branch Office Without  

  Approval 

Up to $100 for 1st 10 day, $10 every day thereafter 

50326 Failure to File Reports When Due Up to $100 each day up to the 10th day 
50500 Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both 

50501 Violation of Law/Rule/Order Up to $2,500 Civil Penalty per violation 

 
NOTE #3:  Administrative Penalties:  Up to $1,000 for first violation and up to $2,500 for each subsequent violation, for persons other than broker-dealers and 

investment advisers; and up to $5,000 for first violation, up to $10,000 for second violation, and up to $15,000 for each subsequent violation, for broker-dealers 

and investment advisers. 

 


