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ASSISTANCE WITH THE APPLICATION 

 

Refer to these instructions while completing the CFLL short form application.  If you have questions about the 

application that are not answered by these instructions, call the Department of Business Oversight’s toll-free 

telephone number at (866) 275-2677.  Department personnel cannot provide individual legal or accounting 

advice.  Applicants who need such advice must consult a qualified professional. 

 

FEES AND PROCESSING OF THE APPLICATION 

 

The application and any attachments must be typewritten.  The signature must be original and not a copy.  

Attach additional sheets if you need more space to complete an answer to any of the questions and label the 

answers by the corresponding question number.  Answer every question in the application. 

 

A CFLL licensee seeking to engage in business at an additional location must submit this application to the 

Commissioner of Business Oversight by certified mail, return receipt requested, at least 10 days before 

engaging in business at the location.   

 

The application must be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee of $200 and an investigation fee of 

$100.  The application fee and investigation fee are not refundable if the application is denied or withdrawn. 

 

Make the check payable to the Department of Business Oversight for the total amount of all fees.  The 

application, attachments, and fees must be filed only in the Los Angeles office of the Department of Business 

Oversight, located at 320 West 4
th

 Street, Suite 750, Los Angeles, California 90013. 

 

THE CFLL SHORT FORM APPLICATION 

 

The headings used in these instructions correspond to the item numbers in the application. 

 

ITEM NUMBER 1 OF APPLICATION: 

 

Name of Applicant: 

 

Provide the applicant’s legal name.  Some foreign entities are required by the California Secretary of State’s 

office to use an assumed name for all business they conduct in California.  These entities should provide that 

assumed name as the “Name of Applicant” and may only use that name.  These entities are not permitted to use 

a fictitious business name. 

 

Fictitious Business Name: 

 

An applicant that intends to conduct CFLL business under a fictitious business name that is different from its 

legal name should provide the fictitious business name here.  Provide the name that appears on the Fictitious 

Business Name Statement as filed with the county clerk.   
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The use of a fictitious business name is not permitted for a new location unless the Department of Business 

Oversight has already approved the use of that name.  If the fictitious business name has not already been 

approved by the Department of Business Oversight, approval of a new fictitious business name may be 

requested from the Department of Business Oversight by submitting under separate cover a copy of the 

Fictitious Business Name Statement with the “filed stamp” from the county clerk’s office.  The applicant’s 

name must appear as a registrant on the Fictitious Business Name Statement.  This document should be 

forwarded along with a written request to CFLL Licensing Specialist, Department of Business Oversight, 320 

West 4
th

 Street, Suite 750, Los Angeles, California 90013.  Applicants who intend to conduct business under a 

fictitious business name are required to comply with the rules governing the filing of a fictitious business name 

as set forth in Business and Professions Code Section 17900 et seq. 

 

ITEM NUMBER 2 OF APPLICATION: 

 

Applicant’s Licensed Place of Business: 

 

Provide the applicant’s complete proposed place of CFLL business, including number and street, city, county, 

state, zip code, telephone number, and fax number. 

 

ITEM NUMBER 3 OF APPLICATION: 

 

Individual in Charge of this Location: 

 

Each office must have a person who is in charge.  Provide the full name of the individual who will be in charge 

of this location.  If the applicant has no middle name, indicate, e.g. “John [no middle name] Smith.” 

 

Statement of Identity and Questionnaire: 

 

The individual named in Item Number 3 of the application must complete and submit a Statement of Identity 

and Questionnaire.  If a Statement of Identity and Questionnaire has already been provided to the Department 

for the individual named in Item Number 3, there is no need to complete the form.  The same individual cannot 

be in charge of multiple locations, and each location must have an individual in charge. 

 

The 10-year employment and residence history in the Statement of Identity and Questionnaire must be complete 

and accurate.  Attach copies of all pertinent court and other documents requested.  The Statement of Identity 

and Questionnaire must be notarized if executed outside the State of California. 

 

Submit the Statement of Identity and Questionnaire with the fingerprint information and the cost of fingerprint 

processing (discussed below). 

 

Fingerprints 

 

Individual(s) named in Item Number 3 of the application must submit fingerprints and related information to the 

Department of Business Oversight with the application, for the purposes of conducting a criminal history 

background check.  (Financial Code Section 22101.5)  Applicants must pay for the cost of processing the 

fingerprints. 
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In-State Individuals: 

 

Individuals named in Item Number 3 of the application who resides in California must complete a “Request for 

Live Scan Service” form.  The triplicate form can be printed from the Department of Business Oversight’s 

website at www.dbo.ca.gov.  Adobe Reader 7.x is required to download the form correctly.  The individual 

must take the three-part form to a live scan location to have their fingerprints taken by the operator and 

submitted electronically to the California Department of Justice for processing.  The applicant will be required 

to pay the fees charged by the California Department of Justice for processing the fingerprints directly to the 

live scan operator.  The Attorney General’s website at 

http://caag.state.ca.us/fingerprints/publications/contact.htm has current information concerning the Department 

of Justice’s fees and the location of live scan terminals.  You may also call the Department of Business 

Oversight at 1-866- 275-2677 for information concerning the location of live scan terminals.  Submit the 

“Requesting Agency Copy” of the “Request for Live Scan Service” form and a processing fee of $20 per 

individual for live scan submission with the CFLL application and the Statement of Identity and Questionnaire 

to the Department of Business Oversight.  Make the check for the fingerprint processing fees payable to the 

Department of Business Oversight. 

 

Out-of-State Individuals: 

 

Individuals residing outside of California are encouraged to come to California, if practical, to have their 

fingerprints taken and submitted electronically through California’s Live Scan process, to significantly decrease 

the processing time.  However, an out-of-state individual named in Item Numbers 4, 5, and 6 may provide 

fingerprint images to the Department of Business Oversight on fingerprint cards.  Call the Department of 

Business Oversight at 1-866-275-2677 to obtain fingerprint cards.  The Department of Business Oversight will 

mail the fingerprint cards to you.  In addition, you must also complete a “Request for Exemption from 

Mandatory Electronic Fingerprint Submission Requirement” form, available from the Attorney General’s 

website at http://caag.state.ca.us/fingerprints/pdf/bcii9004.pdf.  The fee to process the fingerprint card is $86 per 

individual, which includes the Department of Business Oversight’s processing fee of $20 and the Department of 

Justices’ processing fee of $66.  Make the check for all fees payable to the Department of Business Oversight.  

Submit the fingerprint cards, “Request for Exemption from Mandatory Electronic Fingerprint Submission 

Requirement” form, the fees, and the Statement of Identity and Questionnaire with the CFLL application to the 

Department of Business Oversight. 

 

ITEM NUMBER 4 OF APPLICATION: 

 

Applicant’s Plan of Business: 

 

Mark the appropriate box with either a “yes” or “no” response to indicate if there has been any change in the 

plan of business of making or brokering loans or other business that was previously submitted to the 

Department of Business Oversight.  If “yes”, explain the change. 

 

ITEM NUMBER 5 OF APPLICATION: 

 

Applicant’s License Number: 

http://www.dbo.ca.gov/
http://caag.state.ca.us/fingerprints/publications/contact.htm
http://caag.state.ca.us/fingerprints/pdf/bcii9004.pdf
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Provide the existing license number and address of at least one other CFLL license currently held by the 

applicant. 

 

ITEM NUMBER 6 OF APPLICATION: 

 

Responsible Officer or Compliance Person: 

 

Provide the name, title, address, email address, and telephone number of the contact person to whom questions 

regarding the filing of this application should be directed.  The responsible officer or compliance person must 

be from the main office of the company, and may not be a branch manager. 

 

EXHIBITS: 

 

EXHIBIT A (Social Security Number or Federal Taxpayer Identification Number): 

 

Individuals (sole proprietors) applying for a license must provide their social security number.  Corporations, 

partnerships, limited liability company and other business entities, except sole proprietorships, applying for a 

license must provide the federal taxpayer identification number.  Label the document as Exhibit A. 

 

The Department of Business Oversight is required to collect from all applicants social security numbers under 

Family Code Section 17520, and social security numbers or federal taxpayer identification numbers under 

Business and Professions Code Section 494.5.  The social security number or federal taxpayer identification 

number is used to match the information to the names on the list provided by the Department of Child Support 

Services under Family Code Section 17520, and the list of tax delinquencies provided by the State Board of 

Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board under Business and Professions Code 494.5.  Any disclosed social 

security numbers and federal taxpayer identification numbers in the completed application will be considered 

confidential information, and will be filed and maintained as part of the confidential records not subject to 

public inspection.  Refer to Commissioner’s Release 2-G for further information concerning privacy protection 

of personal information. 

 

EXHIBIT B (Not Applicable) 

 

EXHIBIT C (Statement of Identity and Questionnaire): 

 

Provide for the individual named in Item 3, a Statement of Identity and Questionnaire.  If applicable, provide 

fingerprint information and the cost of fingerprint processing. 

 

SIGNATURE SECTION: 

 

Provide the required information.  The Signature Section must be signed by an officer who has previously 

completed and submitted a Statement of Identity and Questionnaire to the Department of Business Oversight. 

 

The application must be signed by the applicant if a sole proprietor, by a general partner if a partnership, or by 

an authorized officer, if a corporation. 



 

 

(Department of Business Oversight Use Only)       

  

 

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS      

OVERSIGHT 

 

Fee Paid $ ___________________ 

                   File No. 

________________________ 

Receipt No. __________________ 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT 

 

“SHORT FORM APPLICATION” 

FOR A LICENSE UNDER THE 

CALIFORNIA FINANCE LENDERS LAW 

FOR A LICENSEE CURRENTLY HOLDING ONE OR MORE LICENSES 
             

   

 

This application must be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee of $200 and a 

nonrefundable investigation fee of $100.  (Financial Code Section 22103.)  The application 

(together with the fees payable to the Department of Business Oversight) must be filed ONLY in 

the Los Angeles office of the Department of Business Oversight, located at 320 West 4th Street, 

Suite 750, Los Angeles, CA  90013. 

 

A licensee seeking to engage in business at a new location must submit this application to the 

Commisioner of Business Oversight by certified mail, return receipt requested, at least 10 days 

before engaging in business at the new location. 

 

A license issued pursuant to the California Finance Lenders Law permits only employees to work 

under the license.  Persons engaged in lending that are not employees may need to obtain a license 

under the California Finance Lenders Law.  In addition, a license issued pursuant to the California 

Finance Lenders Law does not permit a licensee to authorize locations operated by persons other 

than employees of the licensee under some form of franchise or license agreement (e.g., net 

branching.) 

             

   

 



 

 

1. Name of applicant:           

   

 

 Fictitious Business Name (FBN):         

   
 (FBN must already be on file with the Department.  [Financial Code Section 22102(e)]) 

 

(If the applicant seeks to do business under a FBN that has not been previously approved by the 

Department of Business Oversight (Department), additional information will need to be submitted 

under separate cover.  Use of a new proposed FBN is not allowed until such time as written 

approval is received from the Department approving the use of such name.  Approval of a new FBN 

may be requested by submitting under separate cover a copy of the Fictitious Business Name 

Statement with the “filed stamp” from the county clerk’s office along with a written request.  The 

applicant’s name must appear as a registrant on the Fictitious Business Name Statement.  Refer to 

Section 17900 of the Business and Professions Code for the requirements for filing the Fictitious 

Business Name Statement.  (Financial Code Section 22155) 

 

 

2. Applicant’s licensed place of business will be located at (Financial Code Section 22106): 
 

            

  
(Number and Street)    (City)  (County)  (State)  (Zip)  

 

             

  
  (Telephone Number)      (Fax Number) 

 

3. The FULL first, middle (if no middle name, so indicate) and last name of the individual 

in charge of this location.  Each office must have a person who is in charge and the same 

individual cannot be in charge of multiple locations. 
 

             

  
* (Last Name)    (First Name)    (Middle Name) 

 

(*Complete a Statement of Identity and Questionnaire (FS 512 SIQ).  The form is located on 

the Department of Business Oversight’ website at www.dbo.ca.gov and is printed as Exhibit 

C in Section 1422.  If the Statement of Identity and Questionnaire form has already been 

provided to the Department for this individual, there is no need to provide another form.  

(Financial Code Section 22105)) 

 

4. Indicate by marking the appropriate box if there has been or will be ANY CHANGE in the 

applicant’s plan of business of making or brokering loans or other business as described in 

Financial Code Section 22154 that was previously submitted to the Department.  If "yes", 

provide explanation. 

http://www.corp.ca.gov/


 

 

 

  Yes (explain)          

  

 

             

  

 

             

  

 

  No 

 

5. Provide license number and address of one other California Finance Lenders Law license 

held by this applicant. 

 
 License Number     Address       

  

 

6. Provide the name, title, address, email address, and telephone number of the person to 

contact regarding this application.  The license will also be mailed to this person unless 

otherwise instructed.  The name of the person must be a responsible officer or 

compliance person from the main office of the company.  The name of the branch 

manager does not belong here. 

 

 Attention:            

  
    (Name)       (Title) 

  
             

  

 (Number and Street)    (City)   (State)   (Zip Code) 

 

             

  
  (Email Address)     (Telephone Number) 

 

REQUIRED EXHIBITS 

 

EXHIBIT A (Social Security Number or Federal Taxpayer Identification Number): 
 

If the applicant is an individual (sole proprietor), provide the applicant’s social security number, 

or the federal taxpayer identification number if the applicant is a business entity other than a sole 

proprietor.  Label the document as Exhibit A. 

 

EXHIBIT B (Not Applicable) 

 



 

 

EXHIBIT C (Statement of Identity and Questionnaire): 

 

In the event of the issuance of a license, applicant agrees to comply with the requirements of the 

California Finance Lenders Law and rules adopted, and orders issued, by the Commissioner of 

Business Oversight, and further agrees that in the event of any change of its officers, directors, or 

any other persons named in this application, that an amendment to the application containing the 

same information in relation to the new person(s) as is required in the application shall be filed 

with the Commissioner of Business Oversight within thirty days from the date of the change.  

(California Code of Regulations Section 1409 (10 C.C.R. § 1409).) 

 

WHEREFORE, applicant requests that a license be issued by the Commissioner of Business 

Oversight authorizing applicant to engage in business under the California Finance Lenders Law 

within the State of California. 

 

If the proposed location in Item Number 2 is out-of-state, applicant agrees to make its books and 

records available in this state, or pay the reasonable expenses incurred during an investigation or 

examination outside this state. 

 

The applicant has duly caused this application to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned, 

thereunto duly authorized. 

 

The undersigned, on behalf of the applicant, acknowledges that this application and all exhibits 

thereto which are not designated as confidential are subject to public inspection pursuant to 

Section 250.9.1, Chapter 3, Title 10, California Code of Regulations.  A request for 

confidentiality of certain documents may be requested pursuant to Section 250.10.  If a request 

for confidential treatment is granted (or denied), the person making such request will be notified 

in writing. 

 

The undersigned also acknowledges on behalf of the applicant that the State Board of 

Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board are authorized to share taxpayer information with the 

Department of Business Oversight, and in the event the state tax obligation is not paid by a 

licensee after a license is issued, the Department of Business Oversight may be required to 

suspend the license (Business and Professions Code Sections 31 and 494.5). 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury that I have read the foregoing application, including all Exhibits 

attached thereto, or filed therewith, and know the contents thereof, and that the statements therein 

are true and correct. 

 

             
  
           (Applicant) 

 

Executed at             

  
   (City, County, and State)             (Signature of Declarant)* 

 



 

 

Date              

  
             (Typed Name of Declarant)* 

 

             

  
              (Title)* 

 

*This Short Form Application must be signed by an officer who has PREVIOUSLY completed 

and submitted a Statement of Identity and Questionnaire.  No other officer is authorized to sign 

documents on behalf of the applicant. 

 

DBO’s Privacy Notice on Collection 

DBO Collects and Uses Personal Information:  The DBO collects the information requested 

on this form as authorized by Chapter 1 of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations.  The 

DBO uses this information to process applications related to entities authorized to engage in 

business under the Financial Institutions Law.  Use of the personal Information DBO collects is 

subject to limitations contained in the Information Practices Act of 1977 and other applicable 

state and federal laws.   

Providing Personal Information Is Mandatory:  When providing information or documents, 

please do not include unrequested personal information such as a Social Security number, 

driver’s license number, or financial information.   

DBO May Disclose Your Personal Information:  We may share your personal information 

with other federal and state financial institution regulators, or any law enforcement agency.  

Your personal information may also be disclosed: 

 In response to a Public Records Act request, as allowed by the Information Practices Act. 

 To another governmental agency as required by state or federal law. 

 In response to a court order or administrative order, a subpoena or a search warrant. 

Your Access to Your Personal Information:  You may review the records maintained by DBO 

that contain your personal information.  To request access, contact:  DBO Privacy Officer, 1515 

K Street, Sacramento, CA 95814.   

 

 


