
Contact the California Department 
of Business Oversight to check the 
licensing status of a payday lender, 

history of disciplinary actions against a 
payday lender or to file a complaint 

against a payday lender.  

For additional copies of this publication, 
please e-mail your request to 

forms@dbo.ca.gov  

CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT

Toll-Free 1-866-275-2677
TTY          1-800-735-2922

www.dbo.ca.gov

C A L I F O R N I A
D E P A R T M E N T  O F  B U S I N E S S  O V E R S I G H TCommon Sense Financial Tips

Avoid Future Money Problems:

•	 Create a budget (list all sources of income and all 
monthly expenses, including total owed).

•	 Prioritize your debts (pay most expensive interest 
rates first); cut all unnecessary expenses.

•	 Build up a rainy day fund by setting aside a small 
amount per paycheck in a savings account. Get 
into the habit of making regular deposits.

•	 Contact a local consumer credit counseling 
service for help developing a monthly budget or 
a debt repayment plan with creditors.

Online Payday Loans: CAUTION!
The Department strongly urges consumers to
verify a lender is licensed before sharing personal       
information.  You can verify licensure by checking
www.dbo.ca.gov or calling 1-866-275-2677.

• 	 Unlicensed lenders may illegally collect from your 
bank account directly without your permission, 
even if you are unable to repay the loan.

• 	 You might be illegally charged an interest rate 
far higher than California law allows.

• 	 Unlicensed Internet payday lenders might sell 
	 or pirate personal financial information.

• 	 Lenders may be operating out-of-state or 
offshore, making it hard to track them down and 
recover your lost funds if they violate the law.

If you wish to file a formal complaint against an
unlicensed lender, visit www.dbo.ca.gov and
submit a Consumer Complaint Form with the
Department of Business Oversight. 

TOLL-FREE 1-866-275-2677   
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What You Need to Know About 

Payday Loans

DEPARTMENT OF
BUSINESS OVERSIGHT 



What is a Payday Loan?
Payday loans are also called “cash advances” or 
“deferred deposits.”   With a payday loan, a borrower 
writes a check to a lender in exchange for a short-
term cash loan.  For example, a borrower writes a 
$300 check, pays the $45 fee, and receives $255 in 
cash.  The lender does not cash the check until the 
borrower’s next payday, up to 31 days.  

Fees for Payday Loans:
Under California law, the maximum loan amount a 
consumer can borrow in a payday loan is $300.  The 
maximum fee a payday lender can charge is 15% of 
the face amount of the check (up to a maximum of 
$45).  Additional fee restrictions apply for military 
servicemembers and their dependents.

A 15% fee is equivalent to an annual percentage rate 
(APR) of 460% for a two-week loan.  By comparison, 
a loan for a new car generally has an APR of between 
four and seven percent.

APR is the total annual interest rate that a borrower 
pays on a loan, including all fees and charges. APR 
is used to reveal the total cost of borrowing money.  

If You Take Out a Payday Loan: 
Borrow only as much as you can afford to pay back 
in full on your next payday.  On the loan due date, 
some borrowers find they cannot afford to pay back 
the loan.  Borrowers are encouraged not to take out 
a second loan from another payday lender to repay 
the first, as this can lead to a cycle of debt from which 
it will be expensive and difficult to recover.

Loans to Military Members and 
their Dependents:
Because of recent changes in federal and California 
law that restrict payday loan fees for military 
servicemembers and their dependents, some 
payday lenders may choose not to make loans to 
servicemembers and their dependents.  

California Laws Protect You:
•	 In California, all payday lenders - whether a 

storefront or online - must be licensed by the 
Department of Business Oversight if they are 
going to do business in the state.  Visit the 
Department’s website to verify a lender’s license.  

•	 A payday lender may only make you one loan 
(which cannot exceed $300), and may only charge 
a maximum fee of 15% of the total amount of 
the check (up to $45).  Additional fee restrictions 
apply for military servicemembers.

•	 Payday lenders must post their California license 
and a fee schedule at every location.

•	 A payday lender cannot make you a new loan to 
pay off an existing loan.

•	 A payday lender cannot make you a new loan 
while an existing loan is outstanding, even if the 
combined balance of the existing loan and the 
new loan does not exceed $300. 

•	 If your check bounces, the payday lender may 
charge only one bounced check fee (up to $15).  

	 (Be aware - your bank may charge you additional 
fees for insufficient funds.)  

•	 Additional fees cannot be charged if you 	
request an extension of time or payment plan.  
However, the payday lender is not legally required 
to grant your request.

•	 By law, the contract for a payday loan must be 
provided to you in the language you primarily 
used to negotiate with the lender.

•	 A payday lender cannot threaten to prosecute 
you in criminal court for insufficient funds.

•	 You may also have other legal protection under 
California law. If you need help or suspect 
violations of the law, please contact the 
Department of Business Oversight.

If You Have Credit Problems:
Call your creditors and ask to waive late fees, reduce 
the interest rate, and/or work with you to establish a 
re-payment schedule that will work for you.   

If you have missed bill payments or have other 
credit troubles, you may benefit from the services of 
a financial counselor.  Counselors help review your 
entire financial situation and help you develop a 
personalized money management plan.  Be aware 
— just because a debt management agency claims 
to be “non-profit” doesn’t guarantee the services are 
legitimate or affordable.  

A reputable agency should send you free 
information without requiring you to provide 
any personal details.  Look for a range of services, 
including budget counseling and savings and debt 
management classes.  Avoid any that push a debt 
management plan as your only option before they 
analyze your financial situation.  

Visit the National Foundation for Credit 
Counseling (NFCC) website  www.nfcc.org 
or call Toll-Free 1-800-388-2227 for assistance  
with credit problems and creditors.

If You Are Facing Bankruptcy:
Recent Federal law requires mandatory credit 
counseling before you can declare bankruptcy. Go 
to: http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0224-
filing-bankruptcy-what-know for help and 
information about Credit Counseling.

The U.S. Department of Justice Trustee Program 
approves organizations to provide mandatory 
counseling before you can declare bankruptcy and 
mandatory debtor education after you declare 
bankruptcy.  

Go to: http://www.justice.gov/ust/eo/bapcpa/
ccde/ to find an approved organization near you. 
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