TITLE 10. DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
PROPOSED CHANGES UNDER THE

CORPORATE SECURITIES LAW OF 1968
(Additions shown by underline and deletions shown by strikethrough.)

1. Section 260.211.4 is adopted to read:

§260.211.4. Exemption for Finders: Form.

(a) An exemption from the provisions of Section 25210 may be obtained from the

Commissioner of Business Oversight by a natural person, e.qg., individual, who meets

the definition of a finder in Section 25206.1 of the Code.

(b) Initial Filing: An individual seeking exemption as a finder pursuant to Section

25206.1 of the Code shall file with the Commissioner the Statement of Information form

set forth in subsection (q) of this section. The Commissioner may request additional

information, documentation or detail pertaining to the form to be filed with the

Department.

(c) Filing Fee: The fee for filing an initial Statement of Information is $300.00 as

prescribed in Section 25206.1, subdivision (c)(2), of the Code. The individual shall remit

the fee payable to the Department of Business Oversight with the Statement of

Information. The fee is not refundable.

(d) Completion of Filing: A Statement of Information is not considered filed until

the required fee and a completed form are received by the Commissioner.

(e) Amendment to the Statement of Information: A finder shall notify the

Commissioner of any change to the information in the initial Statement of Information

filed with the Commissioner by filing an amended Statement of Information in

accordance with the form instructions within 10 business days of the change.

PRO 05/15 — Text 1



(f) Exemption Ineligibility: The following individuals are ineligible for the

exemption as a finder and shall reqgister with the Commissioner as a broker-dealer

pursuant to Section 260.211 or as an agent pursuant to Section 260.210 of these rules,

unless the individual is otherwise exempt from Section 25210 of the Code:

(1) An individual who fails to meets the requirements of a finder in Section

25206.1, subdivision (a), of the Code, or

(2) An individual who has committed any of the acts or satisfied any of the

circumstances described in Section 25212 of the Code or Rule 506(d) of Regulation D

under the Securities Act of 1933 (17 C.F.R. 230.506(d)).

() The Statement of Information shall be filed on the following form:

STATE OF CALIFORNIA -DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
STATEMENT OF INFORMATION FOR FINDER

PURSUANT TO SECTION 25206.1 of the California Corporations Code

Instructions: This form is required to: 1) file the initial Statement of Information for exemption as a finder from the
broker-dealer requirements of the Corporate Securities Law of 1968, 2) annually file the renewal Statement of
Information, 3) notify the Commissioner of Business Oversight of any amendment to the Statement of Information, or 4)
withdraw the exemption as a finder. Submit the completed form and filing fee to the Department of Business Oversight,
1515 K Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, California, 95814.

A natural person, e.g., individual, who is engaged in the business of effecting transactions in securities and is not
otherwise exempt from Section 25210 of the Corporations Code shall be subject to the broker-dealer requirements of
Section 25210, if the individual fails to meet the definition of a finder and comply with the exemption requirements in
Corporations Code section 25206.1.

An individual who meets the exemption requirements as a finder is subject to the prohibition against fraudulent or
misleading acts in Corporations Code section 25401.

State the purpose for filing the form by marking the appropriate box below:

0 Initial Statement of Information pursuant to Corporations Code Section 25206.1, subdivision (c ), to file for
exemption as a finder from the broker-dealer requirements. Complete Sections I and IV, and attach: 1) a
check payable to the Department of Business Oversight for the filing fee of $300.00, and 2) a completed
Consent to Service of Process (Form 260.165).

0 Renewal Statement of Information pursuant to Corporations Code Section 25206.1, subdivision (d), to

renew the exemption as a finder. Complete Sections I, Il and IV, and attach a check payable to the
Department of Business Oversight for the renewal filing fee of $275.00.
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O]

Amendment to the initial Statement of Information or renewal Statement of Information pursuant to

Sections 260.211.4 and 260.211.5, Title 10, California Code of Regulations. Complete Sections | and IV,
and include the changed information in the relevant section. No fee is required.

0 Withdrawal of the exemption pursuant to Section 260.211.6, Title 10, California Code of Regulations.
Complete Sections 1 and I1l. No fee is required.

1. All filers must complete the following information:

1. Identification Information:

A. Full Legal Name:

(Last Name) (First Name) (Middle Name) (Suffix)
B. Social Security Number: DBO File Number: (DBO use only)

C. Business and Residential Address (Do not provide a P.O. Box):

[ IBusiness Address:

(Number and Street) Cit (State) (Zip)

[ IResidential Address:

(Number and Street) Cit (State) (Zip)

D. Mailing Address, if different from the business or residential address:

(Number and Street) Cit (State) (Zip)

E. Telephone Number:

F. Email Address:

G. Location of Books and Records Required to be Maintained under Section 25206.1, subdivision (f):

(Number and Street) Cit (State) (Zip)
H. Are you a registered representative of any broker or dealer firm?  Yes [ No[]

PRO 05/15 — Text 3



1. Have you committed any of the acts or satisfied any of the circumstances described in, or are subject to any
order pursuant to Section 25212 of the Corporations Code?

LlYes [LINo

|~

Have you committed any of the acts or satisfied any of the circumstances described in, or are subject to any
order pursuant to Rule 506(d) of Regulation D under the Securities Act of 1933 [(17 C.F.R. 230.506(d)]?

LlYes [LINo

If you answered ““yes” in items H, 1, or J, you do not qualify under Section 25206.1 of the Corporations
Code for the exemption as a finder from the broker-dealer requirements. You are required to register with
the Commissioner of Business Oversight as a broker-dealer or agent pursuant to Section 25210 of the
Corporations Code if you are engaged in the business of effecting transactions in securities and are not
otherwise exempt from the broker-dealer requirements.

11. Complete the following section if you are filing a renewal Statement of Information:

By filing this notice with the Commissioner of Business Oversight, Finder hereby represents that (check the

appropriate box):

1. 1 have in the prior 12 months complied with and will continue to comply with the conditions in Section
25206.1, subdivision (), of the Corporations Code. Yes [1 No[]

[~

| have not in the prior 12 months committed any of the acts or satisfied any of the circumstances described
in Section 25212 of the Corporations Code or Rule 506(d) of Regulation D under the Securities Act of

1933 [17 C.F.R. 230.506(d)]. I have not [] 1 have committed one or more of the described acts or

circumstances []

|

| have obtained the written agreement specified in Section 25206.1, subdivision (e), of the Corporations

Code with respect to each transaction in which I participated in the prior 12 months. Yes[ ] No[]

|~

| have received transaction-based compensation that is subject to the actual sale of securities by the issuer

in a transaction in which I participated in the prior 12 months. Yes [1 No[ (Corporations Code section
25206.1 permits finders to receive transaction-based compensation.)

A finder who did not comply with any one of the requirements in item numbers 1 through 3, or fails to provide a
response in item number 4, is prohibited from renewing the exemption and must register with the Commissioner of
Business Oversight as a broker-dealer or agent.

111. Complete the following section if you are withdrawing the exemption:

[] Check the box if you are withdrawing the exemption as a finder from the broker-dealer
requirements. If you are engaged in the business of effecting transactions in securities, you are subject to
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the broker-dealer requirements of Section 25210 of the Corporations Code unless you are otherwise
exempt.

Effective Date of Withdrawal:

Date

Signature of Finder

1V. Execution Section

I, the undersigned, sign this form and certify that the information and statements made in this filing are true and
correct. | certify that the books and records will be maintained and preserved, and available for inspection by the
Commissioner of Business Oversight as required by Section 25206.1, subdivision (f).

Date Filer or Finder Name (Printed)

Signature of Filer or Finder

(h) The notices required by state and federal law in Section 260.211, subsection

(f), of these rules are incorporated as part of the Statement of Information form.

(1) A social security number is solicited pursuant to Section 25206.1 of the

Code.

(2) The principal purposes within the Department for which the social security

number is to be used are to determine whether 1) individuals are eligible for the

exemption from the broker-dealer requirements, 2) individuals regulated by the

Department are conducting themselves in accordance with the applicable laws; and/or

3) laws administered by the Department are being or have been violated and whether

administrative action, civil action, or referral to appropriate federal, state or local law

enforcement or requlatory agencies, as authorized by law, is appropriate.
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NOTE: Authority cited: Section 25206.1, Corporations Code. Reference:

Section 1798.17, Civil Code; Section 25206.1 and 25212, Corporations Code; Sections

13140-13144, Government Code; 17 C.F.R. 230.506(d); and Section 7 of Public Law

93-579 (5 U.S.C. Section 552a note).

2. Section 260.211.5 is adopted to read:

§ 260.211.5. Annual Renewal of Exemption for Finders: Form.

(a) Filing: A finder shall annually renew the exemption by filing the Statement of

Information form in subsection (q) of Section 260.211.4 of these rules with the

Commissioner of Business Oversight in accordance with the form instructions on or

before the filing date specified in Section 25206.1, subdivision (d)(1), of the Code. The

Commissioner may reqguest additional information, documentation or detail pertaining to

the form to be filed with the Department.

(b) Filing Fee: The fee for filing the renewal Statement of Information is $275.00

as prescribed in Section 25206.1, subdivision (d)(2), of the Code. The finder shall remit

the fee payable to the Department of Business Oversight with the Statement of

Information. The fee is not refundable.

(c) Completion of Filing: A Statement of Information is not considered filed until

the required fee and a completed form are received by the Commissioner.

(d) Amendment to the Statement of Information: A finder shall notify the

Commissioner of any change to the information in the renewal Statement of Information

filed with the Commissioner by filing an amended Statement of Information in

accordance with the form instructions within 10 business days of the change.

(e) Reqistration as a Broker-Dealer or Agent Required: A finder who commits

any of the following acts does not meet the requirements for the exemption as a finder
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and shall reqgister with the Commissioner as a broker-dealer pursuant to Section

260.211 or as an agent pursuant to Section 260.210 of these rules, unless the individual

is otherwise exempt from Section 25210 of the Code:

(1) Failure to renew the exemption or pay the renewal filing fee to the

Commissioner before the filing due date specified in Section 25206.1, subdivision (d), of

the Code

(2) Failure to comply with the conditions for a finder in Section 25206.1,

subdivision (a), of the Code,

(3) Performance of any of the acts or satisfying any of the circumstances in

Section 25212 of the Code or Rule 506(d) of Requlation D under the Securities Act of

1933 (17 C.F.R. 230.506(d)) pursuant to Section 25206.1, subdivision (d)(1)(A)(ii), of

the Code

(4) Failure to obtain a signed written agreement or the written consent of each

person introduced or referred by the finder, or to provide the disclosures and information

in accordance with Section 25206.1, subdivision (e), of the Code,

(5) Failure to disclose whether transaction-based compensation was received as

specified in Section 25206.1, subdivision (d)(1)(B), of the Code, and

(6) Failure to maintain the records required under Section 25206.1, subdivision

0.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 25206.1, Corporations Code. Reference:

Section 25206.1 and 25212, Corporations Code; and 17 C.F.R. 230.506(d).
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3. Section 260.211.6 is adopted to read:

8§260.211.6. Notification of Withdrawal: Finder.

A finder shall notify the Commissioner of Business Oversight within 15 calendar

days of the finder withdrawing from engaging in business under the exemption by filing

the Statement of Information form in subsection (g) of Section 260.211.4 of these rules

with the Commissioner in accordance with the form instructions.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 25206.1, Corporations Code. Reference:

Section 25206.1, Corporations Code.

4. Section 260.211.7 is adopted to read:

8§260.211.7. Maintenance of Records.

(a) A finder shall make and keep the written agreement and any other records

for the time period specified in Section 25206.1, subdivision (f), of the Code.

(b) The records shall be maintained at the location designated by the finder in

the Statement of Information.

(c) The records shall be subject at any time to examination by the Commissioner

of Business Oversight as the Commissioner deems necessary or appropriate in the

public interest or for the protection of investors.

(d) The prohibition against fraudulent and misleading acts in Section 25401 of

the Code shall apply to a finder.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 25206.1, Corporations Code. Reference:

Sections 25206.1 and 25401, Corporations Code.
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	1.  Section 260.211.4 is adopted to read:
	§260.211.4. Exemption for Finders:  Form.
	(a) An exemption from the provisions of Section 25210 may be obtained from the Commissioner of Business Oversight by a natural person, e.g., individual, who meets the definition of a finder in Section 25206.1 of the Code.
	(b) Initial Filing:  An individual seeking exemption as a finder pursuant to Section 25206.1 of the Code shall file with the Commissioner the Statement of Information form set forth in subsection (g) of this section.  The Commissioner may request additional information, documentation or detail pertaining to the form to be filed with the Department.
	(c) Filing Fee:  The fee for filing an initial Statement of Information is $300.00 as prescribed in Section 25206.1, subdivision (c)(2), of the Code.  The individual shall remit the fee payable to the Department of Business Oversight with the Statement of Information.  The fee is not refundable. 
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	(2) An individual who has committed any of the acts or satisfied any of the circumstances described in Section 25212 of the Code or Rule 506(d) of Regulation D under the Securities Act of 1933 (17 C.F.R. 230.506(d)).  
	(g)  The Statement of Information shall be filed on the following form:  
	STATE OF CALIFORNIA –DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
	STATEMENT OF INFORMATION FOR FINDER
	PURSUANT TO SECTION 25206.1 of the California Corporations Code
	Instructions:  This form is required to:  1) file the initial Statement of Information for exemption as a finder from the broker-dealer requirements of the Corporate Securities Law of 1968, 2) annually file the renewal Statement of Information, 3) notify the Commissioner of Business Oversight of any amendment to the Statement of Information, or 4) withdraw the exemption as a finder.  Submit the completed form and filing fee to the Department of Business Oversight, 1515 K Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, California, 95814.  
	A natural person, e.g., individual, who is engaged in the business of effecting transactions in securities and is not otherwise exempt from Section 25210 of the Corporations Code shall be subject to the broker-dealer requirements of Section 25210, if the individual fails to meet the definition of a finder and comply with the exemption requirements in Corporations Code section 25206.1.
	An individual who meets the exemption requirements as a finder is subject to the prohibition against fraudulent or misleading acts in Corporations Code section 25401.
	State the purpose for filing the form by marking the appropriate box below: 
	☐ Initial Statement of Information pursuant to Corporations Code Section 25206.1, subdivision (c ), to file for exemption as a finder from the broker-dealer requirements.  Complete Sections I and IV, and attach:  1) a check payable to the Department of Business Oversight for the filing fee of $300.00, and 2) a completed Consent to Service of Process (Form 260.165).
	☐ Renewal Statement of Information pursuant to Corporations Code Section 25206.1, subdivision (d), to renew the exemption as a finder.  Complete Sections I, II and IV, and attach a check payable to the Department of Business Oversight for the renewal filing fee of $275.00.
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	(Last Name)  (First Name)  (Middle Name)  (Suffix)
	B. Social Security Number:               DBO File Number: (DBO use only)
	      _______-____-__________           _____________________________________
	C. Business and Residential Address (Do not provide a P.O. Box):
	☐Business Address:
	 (Number and Street)  (City)  (State)  (Zip)
	☐Residential Address: 
	 (Number and Street)  (City)  (State)  (Zip)
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	 (Number and Street)  (City)  (State)  (Zip)
	E. Telephone Number:   ________________________________________________
	F. Email Address: _____________________________________________________ 
	G. Location of Books and Records Required to be Maintained under Section 25206.1, subdivision (f):
	 (Number and Street)  (City)  (State)  (Zip)
	H. Are you a registered representative of any broker or dealer firm?      Yes ☐ No☐
	I. Have you committed any of the acts or satisfied any of the circumstances described in, or are subject to any order pursuant to Section 25212 of the Corporations Code?
	☐Yes  ☐No
	J. Have you committed any of the acts or satisfied any of the circumstances described in, or are subject to any order pursuant to Rule 506(d) of Regulation D under the Securities Act of 1933 [(17 C.F.R. 230.506(d)]?
	☐Yes   ☐No
	If you answered “yes” in items H, I, or J, you do not qualify under Section 25206.1 of the Corporations Code for the exemption as a finder from the broker-dealer requirements.  You are required to register with the Commissioner of Business Oversight as a broker-dealer or agent pursuant to Section 25210 of the Corporations Code if you are engaged in the business of effecting transactions in securities and are not otherwise exempt from the broker-dealer requirements.
	II.  Complete the following section if you are filing a renewal Statement of Information:
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	1. I have in the prior 12 months complied with and will continue to comply with the conditions in Section 25206.1, subdivision (a), of the Corporations Code.  Yes ☐   No☐
	2. I have not in the prior 12 months committed any of the acts or satisfied any of the circumstances described in Section 25212 of the Corporations Code or Rule 506(d) of Regulation D under the Securities Act of 1933 [17 C.F.R. 230.506(d)].  I have not ☐  I have committed one or more of the described acts or circumstances ☐
	3. I have obtained the written agreement specified in Section 25206.1, subdivision (e), of the Corporations Code with respect to each transaction in which I participated in the prior 12 months.  Yes☐   No☐
	4. I have received transaction-based compensation that is subject to the actual sale of securities by the issuer in a transaction in which I participated in the prior 12 months.  Yes ☐  No☐ (Corporations Code section 25206.1 permits finders to receive transaction-based compensation.)
	A finder who did not comply with any one of the requirements in item numbers 1 through 3, or fails to provide a response in item number 4, is prohibited from renewing the exemption and must register with the Commissioner of Business Oversight as a broker-dealer or agent.
	III.  Complete the following section if you are withdrawing the exemption:
	☐      Check the box if you are withdrawing the exemption as a finder from the broker-dealer requirements.  If you are engaged in the business of effecting transactions in securities, you are subject to the broker-dealer requirements of Section 25210 of the Corporations Code unless you are otherwise exempt.
	Effective Date of Withdrawal:    ____________________________
	             Date  
	    ____________________________
	    Signature of Finder
	IV.  Execution Section
	I, the undersigned, sign this form and certify that the information and statements made in this filing are true and correct.  I certify that the books and records will be maintained and preserved, and available for inspection by the Commissioner of Business Oversight as required by Section 25206.1, subdivision (f). 
	_________________     ____________________________
	          Date       Filer or Finder Name (Printed)
	      ____________________________
	      Signature of Filer or Finder
	(h)  The notices required by state and federal law in Section 260.211, subsection (f), of these rules are incorporated as part of the Statement of Information form.  
	(1)  A social security number is solicited pursuant to Section 25206.1 of the Code.
	(2)  The principal purposes within the Department for which the social security number is to be used are to determine whether 1) individuals are eligible for the exemption from the broker-dealer requirements, 2) individuals regulated by the Department are conducting themselves in accordance with the applicable laws; and/or 3) laws administered by the Department are being or have been violated and whether administrative action, civil action, or referral to appropriate federal, state or local law enforcement or regulatory agencies, as authorized by law, is appropriate.
	NOTE: Authority cited:  Section 25206.1, Corporations Code.  Reference:  Section 1798.17, Civil Code; Section 25206.1 and 25212, Corporations Code; Sections 13140-13144, Government Code; 17 C.F.R. 230.506(d); and Section 7 of Public Law 93-579 (5 U.S.C. Section 552a note).
	2.  Section 260.211.5 is adopted to read:
	§ 260.211.5.  Annual Renewal of Exemption for Finders:  Form.
	(a) Filing:  A finder shall annually renew the exemption by filing the Statement of Information form in subsection (g) of Section 260.211.4 of these rules with the Commissioner of Business Oversight in accordance with the form instructions on or before the filing date specified in Section 25206.1, subdivision (d)(1), of the Code. The Commissioner may request additional information, documentation or detail pertaining to the form to be filed with the Department.
	(b) Filing Fee:  The fee for filing the renewal Statement of Information is $275.00 as prescribed in Section 25206.1, subdivision (d)(2), of the Code.  The finder shall remit the fee payable to the Department of Business Oversight with the Statement of Information.  The fee is not refundable. 
	(c) Completion of Filing: A Statement of Information is not considered filed until the required fee and a completed form are received by the Commissioner.
	(d) Amendment to the Statement of Information:  A finder shall notify the Commissioner of any change to the information in the renewal Statement of Information filed with the Commissioner by filing an amended Statement of Information in accordance with the form instructions within 10 business days of the change.
	(e) Registration as a Broker-Dealer or Agent Required:  A finder who commits any of the following acts does not meet the requirements for the exemption as a finder and shall register with the Commissioner as a broker-dealer pursuant to Section 260.211 or as an agent pursuant to Section 260.210 of these rules, unless the individual is otherwise exempt from Section 25210 of the Code:
	(1)  Failure to renew the exemption or pay the renewal filing fee to the Commissioner before the filing due date specified in Section 25206.1, subdivision (d), of the Code,
	(2)  Failure to comply with the conditions for a finder in Section 25206.1, subdivision (a), of the Code, 
	(3)  Performance of any of the acts or satisfying any of the circumstances in Section 25212 of the Code or Rule 506(d) of Regulation D under the Securities Act of 1933 (17 C.F.R. 230.506(d)) pursuant to Section 25206.1, subdivision (d)(1)(A)(ii), of the Code, 
	(4)  Failure to obtain a signed written agreement or the written consent of each person introduced or referred by the finder, or to provide the disclosures and information in accordance with Section 25206.1, subdivision (e), of the Code,
	(5) Failure to disclose whether transaction-based compensation was received as specified in Section 25206.1, subdivision (d)(1)(B), of the Code, and
	(6) Failure to maintain the records required under Section 25206.1, subdivision (f).
	NOTE: Authority cited:  Section 25206.1, Corporations Code.  Reference:  Section 25206.1 and 25212, Corporations Code; and 17 C.F.R. 230.506(d).
	3.  Section 260.211.6 is adopted to read:
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	A finder shall notify the Commissioner of Business Oversight within 15 calendar days of the finder withdrawing from engaging in business under the exemption by filing the Statement of Information form in subsection (g) of Section 260.211.4 of these rules with the Commissioner in accordance with the form instructions.
	NOTE: Authority cited:  Section 25206.1, Corporations Code.  Reference:  Section 25206.1, Corporations Code.
	4.  Section 260.211.7 is adopted to read:
	§260.211.7.  Maintenance of Records.
	(a)  A finder shall make and keep the written agreement and any other records for the time period specified in Section 25206.1, subdivision (f), of the Code.
	(b)  The records shall be maintained at the location designated by the finder in the Statement of Information.
	(c)  The records shall be subject at any time to examination by the Commissioner of Business Oversight as the Commissioner deems necessary or appropriate in the public interest or for the protection of investors.
	(d)  The prohibition against fraudulent and misleading acts in Section 25401 of the Code shall apply to a finder.
	NOTE: Authority cited:  Section 25206.1, Corporations Code.  Reference:  Sections 25206.1 and 25401, Corporations Code.

