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New Filing Requirements for Regulation D Offerings 

 
In 2008, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) adopted revisions to Regulation 
D and Form D, designed to simplify and restructure information requirements and to enable 
electronic filing of Form D. 1  See Securities Act Release No. 33-8891 (Feb. 6, 2008), 
available at http://www.sec.gov/rules/final/2008/33-8891.pdf.  The revised Form D was 
filed electronically with the SEC on a voluntary basis from September 15, 2008, through 
March 15, 2009. 
 
BEGINNING MARCH 16, 2009, THE SEC REQUIRES ALL FORM D FILINGS TO BE 
MADE ELECTRONICALLY.     
 
Filing Requirements in California   
 
To claim an exclusion or exemption from securities qualification under California law, a 
Form D filing must be submitted to the California Corporations Commissioner no later 
than 15 days after the date of the first sale in this state.  The Corporations 
Commissioner accepts Form D filings in two ways:   
 

1. For an issuer filing a notice of a Rule 506 offering under California Corporations 
Code Section 25102.1(d), an issuer must submit: 

 
a. A copy of the version of Form D filed with and accepted by the SEC; 
b. A filing fee of $300, pursuant to Section 25608.1(c) of the California 

Corporations Code; and 
                     
1 Under the Securities Act of 1933, any offer to sell securities must either be registered with the SEC or meet an 
exemption. Regulation D (or Reg D) contains three rules providing exemptions from the registration requirements, allowing 
some smaller companies to offer and sell their securities without having to register the securities with the SEC. In California, 
companies offering or selling securities in reliance on Rule 506 of Regulation D must file a “Form D” upon the first sale of 
securities in this state, and companies relying on the exemption under Corporations Code Section 25102(f) may file a paper 
copy of “Form D” rather than filing an electronic notice through the Department of Corporations’ website.   

http://www.corp.ca.gov/
http://www.sec.gov/rules/final/2008/33-8891.pdf
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c. A consent to service of process or Form U-2 if a Temporary Form D was 
filed with the SEC prior to March 16, 2009 (a consent to service of 
process or Form U-2 is not required if an electronic Form D was filed 
with the SEC).  

 
2. To file a notice of exemption under California Corporations Code Section 

25102(f) by filing a copy of Form D (rather than electronically filing a notice with 
the Department of Corporations), an issuer must submit: 

 
a.  A copy of the version of Form D filed with and accepted by the SEC; 
b. The appropriate filing fee, as determined based on the value of securities 

proposed to be sold, pursuant to Section 25608(c) of the California 
Corporations Code; 

c. A consent to service of process or Form U-2 if Temporary Form D was 
filed with the SEC prior to March 16, 2009 (a consent to service of 
process or Form U-2 is not required if an electronic Form D is filed 
with the SEC); and 

d. A cover letter specifying that the Form D filling is pursuant to section 
25102(f). 

 
All filings submitted by mail should be addressed to:  
 

California Department of Corporations 
1515 K Street, Suite 200 

Sacramento, California 95814 
 
Annual Filings/Amendments  
 
California does not require the filing of amendments or annual renewals.   
 
Other Considerations 
 
An issuer filing electronically with the SEC should allow adequate time to obtain an 
Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR) access code from the SEC 
prior to filing with that agency, in order to meet the filing requirement in California within 
15 days of a sale in this state.  An EDGAR access code may be obtained by following 
the instructions at https://www.filermanagement.edgarfiling.sec.gov.  For more 
information on filing with the SEC, consult the SEC’s Guidance on Form D Filing 
Process.  See also Securities Act Release No. 33-8891 (PDF)* (Feb. 6, 2008). 
 
An electronic signature on a copy of electronic Form D is acceptable in California. 
 

https://www.filermanagement.edgarfiling.sec.gov/
http://www.sec.gov/divisions/corpfin/formdfiling.htm
http://www.sec.gov/divisions/corpfin/formdfiling.htm
http://www.sec.gov/rules/final/2008/33-8891.pdf
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Questions 
 
Questions regarding Form D filing requirements in California may be directed to the 
Department of Corporations’ toll free number at 1 (866) ASK-CORP (1 (866) 275-2677). 
  

 
 
 

Preston DuFauchard 
California Corporations Commissioner 

 
 
 

By _________________________________ 
Colleen E. Monahan 

Deputy Commissioner 
Office of Legislation and Policy 
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