
Highlights of 2011 State Chaptered Legislation  
 

The legislation noted below is a compendium of many, but not all of the 
chaptered bills that may have an impact on financial institutions.  The full text of 
these bills may be found at http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/bilinfo.html 
 
 
AB 184 (Swanson), Chapter 28, Statutes of 2011, Contractual Assessment 
Programs: Seismic Safety Improvements 
This statute expands existing law to authorize contractual assessments to 
finance the installation of seismic strengthening improvements that are 
permanently fixed to real property, as specified. 
 
AB 597 (Eng), Chapter 612, Statutes of 2011, California Financial Literacy 
Fund 
This statute establishes the California Financial Literacy Fund to enable 
public/private partnerships to improve financial literacy through private donations, 
administered by the State Controller, and available upon appropriation in the 
annual Budget Act.  It requires that donations be returned if not appropriated 
within 18 months; authorizes the Controller to convene an advisory committee to 
develop strategies to improve financial literacy; prohibits use of donations to 
promote or market financial products of any contributor; and, beginning in 2013, 
requires an annual summary to specified committees on the use of moneys 
appropriated from the fund. 
 
AB 901 (V. Pérez), Chapter 483, Statutes of 2011, Economic Development: 
Small Business 
This statute amends definitions related to institutions that may participate in loan 
programs of the California Economic Development Fund (under the Business, 
Transportation and Housing Agency), and the Capital Access Loan Program 
(administered by the California Pollution Control Financing Authority); and 
includes reporting requirements for CalCAP participating institutions as well as 
CalCAP programmatic results. 
 
AB 981 (Hueso), Chapter 484, Statutes of 2011, California Pollution Control 
Financing Authority: Capital Access Loan Program 
This statute amends the definition of financial institutions for purposes of the 
program; authorizes the authority to withdraw a portion of interest or other 
income credited to the loss reserve account; and requires the authority to 
contribute to the loss reserve account an amount not less than 150% of 
institution-paid fees, if the qualified business is located within a severely affected 
community. 
 
AB 1076, (Achadjian), Chapter 326, Statutes of 2011, Credit Unions 
This statute revises the requirements for a credit union to enter into direct or 
indirect obligations with an official of the credit union; specifies that the aggregate 
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amount of obligations outstanding to all credit union officials may not exceed 
20% of the credit union’s capital; and specifies that any obligation that would 
cause the aggregate obligations of an official to exceed $50,000 (excluding the 
portion fully secured by shares), must be approved by the credit committee or 
credit manager and by the board of directors of the credit union. 
 
SB 4 (Calderon), Chapter 229, Statutes of 2011, Mortgages 
This statute requires, beginning April 1, 2012, that a notice of sale related to 1-4 
family real property contain language notifying potential bidders of specified risks 
involved in bidding on property at a trustee’s sale, and a notice informing the 
property owner about how to obtain information regarding any postponement of 
the sale; would require a good faith effort to provide current information regarding 
sale dates and postponements, free of charge and by any means that provides 
continuous access. 
 
SB 6 (Calderon), Chapter 716, Statutes of 2011, Real Estate: Appraisal and 
Valuation 
This statute prohibits a real estate licensee from knowingly or intentionally 
misrepresenting the value of real property and prohibits a licensee that offers or 
provides an opinion of value of residential real property related to origination of a 
mortgage loan from having a prohibited interest in the property; prohibits an 
appraisal management company from improperly influencing any appraisal and 
specifically prohibits certain acts; prohibits a person or entity preparing an 
appraisal from having a prohibited interest in the property or the transaction; 
prohibits a person with an interest in a real estate transaction from improperly 
influencing a valuation; and enumerates prohibited acts related to a valuation. 
 
SB 24 (Simitian), Chapter 197, Statutes of 2011, Personal Information: 
Privacy 
This statute requires any agency, person or business that is required to issue a 
security breach notification to fulfill additional specified requirements pertaining to 
the security breach notification; and, if the required security breach notification 
affects more than 500 California residents, to submit a single sample copy of the 
notification to the Attorney General, as specified. 
 
SB 33 (Simitian), Chapter 372, Statutes of 2011, Elder and Dependent Adult 
Abuse 
This statute deletes the January 1, 2013, repeal date of the Financial Elder 
Abuse Reporting Act of 2005, which extended mandated reporting requirements 
of financial abuse of elders and dependent adults to officers and employees of 
financial institutions. 
 
SB 458 (Corbett), Chapter 82, Statutes of 2011, Mortgages: Deficiency 
Judgments 
This statute, in the case of a short sale in accordance with the written consent of 
the holder, prohibits a deficiency judgment on a note secured solely by a deed of 
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trust or mortgage for a dwelling of not more than 4 units; prohibits the holder of a 
note from requiring the trustor, mortgagor or maker of the note to pay any 
additional compensation in exchange for the written consent to the sale; and 
provides that these provisions are inapplicable if the trustor or mortgagor is a 
corporation, limited liability company, limited partnership, or political subdivision 
of the state.  This statute was effective with the Governor’s signature, July 11, 
2011. 
 
SB 495 (Fuller), Chapter 305, Statutes of 2011, Unclaimed Property 
This statute makes certain changes to the Unclaimed Property Law, administered 
by the State Controller, including: a clarifying technical change related to the 
contents of a safe deposit box; changes related to funds held in a retirement 
account or plan and tangible and intangible property held in a fiduciary capacity; 
changes related to reporting property that does not appear to be subject to 
escheat; and extends the amount of time that property that has no apparent 
commercial value must be held by the Controller from 18 months to 7 years. 
 
SB 664 (Committee on Banking and Financial Institutions), Chapter 243, 
Statutes of 2011, Financial Institutions 
This statutes reorganizes and renumbers various provisions of the Financial 
Code related to licensees of the Department of Financial Institutions; makes 
certain conforming changes; and provides conformance to the federal Dodd-
Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2010 related to de 
novo interstate branching and requires a specified notice to the commissioner 
related to branching. 
 
SB 718 (Vargas), Chapter 373, Statutes of 2011, Elder and Dependent Adult 
Abuse: Mandated Reporting 
This statutes provides that the reports required of mandated reporters of elder 
and dependent adult abuse may submit reports through a confidential internet 
reporting tool, if the county or long-term care ombudsman implements such a 
system; and requires a county or long-term care ombudsman who implements 
such a system to report specified information to specified policy committees one 
year after full implementation. 
 
SB 837 (Blakeslee) Chapter 61, Statutes of 2011, Residential Real Property 
Disclosures 
This statute revises the disclosures that a transferor of real property improved 
with 1-4 dwellings must provide to include whether or not the property is 
equipped with water-conserving plumbing fixtures. 
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